Farmers Market Bounty

18 Apr

by Green Gourmet K

Slow Food Savannah debuted at the Forsyth Park Farmers Market this weekend and we had lots of visitors to our table.  The market was very busy as usual and we were fortunate to be able to speak to many people from our target audience.  Hopefully support and enthusiasm for the organization will continue to grow.

While at the market I of course did a little shopping of my own and found some really inspiring and beautiful ingredients.

First off, Slow Food Savannah’s table was right next to Walker Organic Farms and those folks know how to display and sell some good-looking organic produce.  One thing that caught my eye immediately were these root vegetables.

Ignore the wilted leaves, that was my fault for not bringing a cooler.  So what’s so great about this funny looking root vegetable?

Oh yes, look at that beautiful pink color!  This is a watermelon radish.  It has a slightly sweet taste but is spicy and crisp, like conventional radishes.  It was new to me and I love finding something I have never tried before.

The Walker folks also had lovely, colorful carrots.  These carrots make me sad for grocery store carrots, they will just never, ever be able to measure up to flavor and appeal of the real thing.

The radishes and one of the yellow carrots (no need to peel these organic carrots!) went right into a salad with Walker spinach, feta cheese and a homemade vinaigrette.

I also picked up this little guy:

An heirloom cherry tomato plant!  I can’t wait to get this guy planted in a big container.

I hope this inspires you all to get to your local farmer’s market and find out what special varieties of new and interesting foods you might be able to find.  My time there this weekend was a great inspiration for me and I can’t wait to see what else pops up at the market throughout the spring and into summer.

Leave a Reply

