Sweet Southern Spring

1 Mar

by Green Gourmet K

You may (or may not) have noticed that I have been missing from the Green Gourmets scene lately.  Life got very busy and blogging had to take a back seat for a short while but luckily I have a great partner in this venture who picked up the slack, along with some of the best home cooks I know as guest contributors.  But now I am back and reinvigorated by springtime and this beautiful weather we’re having down South.

Savannah is beyond description beautiful in this little sneak peek of Spring we’ve had so far.  Camelias are blooming all over town and those bright (or soft) spots of pink sure are a sight for sore eyes.  I guess you could say I am falling in love with Savannah a little because she sure is starting to look attractive.  Yes, I know I’m superficial.  Please excuse the Iphone pictures, they abound in this post, but when you’re pressed for time it does make for a handy camera.

This is what I have been up to . . .

I went here for work – this is in Alabama:

Then I went to Boston for work and it sure was icy cold.

Recently we enjoyed the spring-like weather sitting on the deck at Vickery’s on Shem Creek in Mt. Pleasant, SC:

Now I am finally getting some time with this little guy:

Another reason I am feeling re-energized and excited is that I have committed to a new way of eating and to working on my health and fitness in general.  I have been thinking for a while that I would like to test my own boundaries and accomplish some personal goals.  Fortunately for me I know someone who coaches people and helps them reach their goals for a living.  Ms. Annie Banks is a C.H.E.K. Practitioner and a Holistic Lifestyle Coach, as well as a certified Yoga Instructor.  She works at Progressive Fitness in Charleston, South Carolina.  Pretty great job, right?!  Annie also happens to be someone I have been friends with since we were babies swimming in her mama’s pond.  Yeah, we’re a little country.

Back in November I told Annie about my desire to make some changes and achieve some goals.  Life got in the way but we finally got together last week.  She started me off with a metabolic typing which she said would help me determine the best fuel for my body and to feel more hormonally balanced.  The actual metabolic typing was very easy, you just need to fill out some questionnaires as truthfully as possible then Annie gets the results and helps you interpret them.  It turns out I am a “protein-type,” the real analysis was more complicated than this and gives you a lot of detail but what it breaks down to is that for my metabolic type I function better eating a diet of 40% protein, 30% carbohydrates and 30% fats.  That’s a lot of protein, and the suggested sources are meat, fowl and fish.  I was stunned.  I try to get my protein in but I have never experimented with a higher proportion of protein in my diet.

In fact, of late, here is what I have been eating:

Fresh Gnocchi from the local Savannah Farmer’s Market at Forsyth Park.

Local shrimp – Savannah, GA

Local brussel sprouts, from the Savannah Farmer’s Market at Forsyth Park.

I am guessing my new meals will look something like what I have been eating, like the above taco/burrito/something Mexicanish dish, just minus the tortilla.

I am excited to be giving this new way of eating a try.  I will do my best to chronicle it here.  This will be a challenge, for an occasional meat-eater to start cooking and eating high-protein and low-carb meals.  But while I am losing bread, rice, and pasta (at least as regular staples), I am gaining all sorts of delicious meats (including bacon!), cheeses, whole milk, cream, full-fat yogurt.  What’s the downside again?  This will definitely be a big change, but I’m excited to give it a shot, and of course, my focus will still be on eating as much local, fresh food as possible.

Leave a Reply

