Mushroom/Spinach Quesadillas

9 Feb

by Green Gourmet L

One of my ideas when we moved to DC was to take a year to “eat around the world”. Since DC has so many different ethnic restaurants, I wanted to see how many different cuisines I could try. So far we’ve had Moroccan, Malaysian, Lebanese, Greek, Italian, French, Belgian, Ethiopian, Chinese, Japanese, Australian, Spanish, Vietnamese, Thai, and Ghanian. If you have traveled with me (driving, walking, etc.) you know that I have a horrendous sense of direction. I am also terrible at reading a map. Fortunately, adventurous eating helps me with geography since I have to color in the countries on a map once I’ve eaten there. Using food to teach basic skills, brilliant!

As much as  I love ethnic food, sometimes I have to fall back on my old standby- greasy Mexican. The fact is, among all the ethnic restaurants we’ve heard about and been to, we haven’t tried a Mexican restaurant here. So I decided to whip up an old standby… the quesadilla.

Ingredients

Serves 2

  • 2 Portobello mushroom caps, chopped
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup onions
  • 1 cup part-skim shredded mozzerella cheese
  • olive oil
  • 4 tortillas (I usually like to use sprouted grain tortillas)
  • 1 tp cilantro, chopped

Directions

Heat 1 tp oil over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook until carmelized, about 5-7 minutes.

Turn the heat to medium, add mushrooms, and cook for about 3 minutes. Important note: Do not salt the mushrooms, or they will be soggy. Add the spinach and stir frequently until spinach has reduced by half. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from pan and place cooked veggies to the side.

Using the same pan, layer one tortilla, 1/4 cup of cheese, 1/2 the veggies and  1/2 tp cilantro, an additional 1/4 cup of cheese, and another tortilla.

Cook over medium low heat until tortilla begins to brown and cheese begins to melt (about 2 minutes). Flip to the other side and cook for an additional 2 minutes.

Remove from pan and cut into 4 pieces.

Enjoy your non-greasy home-cooked Mexican comfort food and don’t forget you read about it on Green Gourmets!

One Response to “Mushroom/Spinach Quesadillas”

  1. Arlene February 9, 2011 at 2:49 PM #

    That looks yummy! I’ll definitely have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

