A Peek into Julia’s Kitchen

7 Feb

by Green Gourmet L

Since I live in DC, and it’s been very cold lately, the perfect Saturday to me is wandering around one of the many museums in town. Recently, I visited the Smithsonian Museum of American History. Among Dorothy’s slippers, Michelle Obama’s inauguration dress, and Kermit the Frog, I was thrilled to discover an entire exhibit devoted to Julia Child! I believe almost any foodie I know would drop everything and move to France to study cooking just like Julia. She was a pioneer for women in the field and unapologetic in her approach.

One of the big things that Julia pushed was getting back into the kitchen. Instead of convenience and packaged foods, she taught her viewers how to use fresh ingredients and their own two hands to make satisfying meals for their families. Sounds kinda like the Slow Food Movement that’s gaining popularity today.

At the museum, they have recreated Julia’s kitchen to be a replica of her kitchen in Cambridge, MA. When Mr. Green Gourmet and I lived in Cambridge, we would do our weekly shopping at a market that Julia shopped in (and we would buy our meat from the same butcher)!

I was surprised to see how small her kitchen actually was. Especially considering the mammoth Viking appliances that chef’s have nowadays.

She definitely had a great collection of pots and pans. I even see a few food mills up there (I have one of those!).

They also have a number of kitchen tools on display with descriptions, in case you didn’t recognize some of the contraptions.

I also had to have a look at her collection of cookbooks. Some of them were in French, mais oui!

If you happen to be in DC, make sure you stop by this exhibit. They have a continuous feed of Julia’s cooking shows that really give you a peek into her personality as well as her kitchen. Bon Appetit and don’t forget you read about it on Green Gourmets!

One Response to “A Peek into Julia’s Kitchen”

  1. Jen @ keepitsimplefoods February 8, 2011 at 4:22 PM #

    Oh, I’m so glad you went to see this. It’s a terrific exhibit! One of my faves in DC.

Leave a Reply

