Farmer’s Market: What’s in Season in Winter?

5 Jan

by Green Gourmet L

It’s hard for me to figure out what is in season when I go to the grocery store. It seems like I can eat strawberries, fresh tomatoes, and zucchini whenever I want. But I know that if I were to visit my local farmer, I wouldn’t be able to buy any of this produce in the dead of winter. So… doesn’t it make you question how this bounty of beautiful fruits and vegetables always seems be on the shelves? On Green Gourmets, we’ll be talking a lot about where our food is coming from and why it’s important to eat locally, sustainably, and in season.

I’m lucky enough to live with a year round farmer’s market in the “backyard” of my Dupont Circle apartment. If I ever have a question about what fruits and vegetables I should be eating for the season, I need only step into one of the many tents at the outdoor market. Here’s what’s fresh now!

Brussels Sprouts and other Cabbages

Carrots and Radishes

 

Leafy Greens like Spinach, Mustard Greens, Collards, and Swiss Chard

White Potatoes and Sweet Potatoes

 

Winter Squash: Butternut, Acorn, Delicata, Spaghetti, Pumpkin

 

Turnips, Rutebegas, Celeriac

 

Apples and Pears

 

Don’t recognize some of these winter wonders? Not to worry, the Green Gourmets are here to help. We’ll be posting many recipes using these local, seasonal ingredients. Try something new and don’t forget you read about it on Green Gourmets!

4 Responses to “Farmer’s Market: What’s in Season in Winter?”

  1. Jane January 5, 2011 at 7:38 AM #

    Thanks for the post. The pictures are great.We are looking forward to the recipes.

  2. Jen @ keepitsimplefoods January 5, 2011 at 9:33 AM #

    Oooh! I need to get over to the Farmer’s Market. I haven’t been in ages.

  3. Cindy January 5, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

    Surprising! Lots of fresh vegetables available now! Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Winter Squash Soup « The Green Gourmets - January 20, 2011

    […] to know how to use some of the vegetables that you saw at the Farmer’s Market? I’ve been thinking about different ways to incorporate more squash into my life. One of my […]

Leave a Reply

