Birthday Cake Love

20 Dec

by Green Gourmet K

If someone bakes you a cake, it means they love you.  No really, cake baking is not simple or easy, I mean the real kind of cake baking of course, not the boxed mix kind of baking.  This past weekend was my dear husband’s birthday celebration.  The real day is very close to Christmas so we usually celebrate a little ahead to separate his birthday and make it a little more special.  I decided this year that I would bake him whatever cake he wanted as my present to him.  He chose yellow or vanilla cake with chocolate frosting.  Okay, no problem.  I’ve made cheesecakes, lots of pies, plenty of cookies, but not too many cakes.  I turned to the good ol’ interwebs to find the perfect recipe.  Lo and behold, one of my favorite food bloggers, Smitten Kitchen, had a recipe for The Best Birthday Cake.   I followed her recipe to the letter and it came out great!  But goodness gracious, what wouldn’t come out great with two sticks of butter in it?  It did take a good part of the day for me to bake this cake, which I interspersed with present wrapping with my mom, chatting, TV watching, drinking large cups of tea and taking walks with the husband and dogs.  My cake baking experience really made me appreciate every time my mom or a friend has baked me a cake.

Because I do not have permission to reprint her cake recipe I will just send you to her site for it: Best Birthday Cake.

I used this frosting from another recipe Smitten Kitchen posted: Instant Fudge Frosting.

I will say that I used organic butter (which sometimes you can find on sale and freeze it for just such a baking extravaganza), King Arthur unbleached cake flour (the best flour you can get in the grocery store!), and good buttermilk.  High quality ingredients = high quality cake.

Enjoy the pictures of my attempt at cake baking and our birthday dinner.

Butter your pan baby! And if you don’t have parchment paper like me, use some of the cake flour to butter then flour your pan.

Sift your dry ingredients together.

Mix your wet ingredients in the mixer, then add your dry ingredients in batches.

Now that your cake mix is done, bake your two cake rounds then let them cool for an hour on wire racks.  Go for a walk, do laundry, solve the world’s problems, then come back and make your frosting.

Melt some unsweetened chocolate.  It’s unsweetened, so it will not taste good if you stick your finger in there.

After an amateur frosting application you will end up with something that looks like this:

But first you’re going to have some of this homemade Pickled Shrimp.  Don’t worry, this recipe is coming soon.

Followed a little while later by some of these green things:

Served with this Rosemary Roasted Chicken with Rice:

And then someone like this might think it’s their birthday and try to get a piece of cake.

2 Responses to “Birthday Cake Love”

  1. Haywood December 20, 2010 at 9:51 AM #

    You are my hero. I hope one day to be able to make more than one thing at a time. In the mean time, I will just marvel at your creations 🙂 Happy B-Day CM!!

  2. Chris December 22, 2010 at 12:06 PM #

    Oh, man! This cake was so delicious. It truly is “The Best Birthday” cake.

Leave a Reply

