Green Gourmet Dip – A Little Holiday Balance

16 Dec

by Green Gourmet K

This time of year you can barely go anywhere without someone offering you a holiday treat.  As much as I love all of the seasonal treats I need a little balance in order to truly enjoy the decadence.   When it came time to plan what to bring to A’s holiday party I knew I wanted to bring vegetables and dip.   I have been on the lookout for a dip recipe that was easy, quick and involved real ingredients (in other words not tearing open a packet of dry powder and adding to sour cream).  I think I finally found it, a great homemade dip recipe.   I altered this recipe from my favorite food magazine, you guessed it, Bon Appetit.  The December issue had a recipe for Green Goddess dip that I adapted to my own tastes and I hope you all like it.  Serve it with a large platter of veggies at your next holiday event and people will be eating their carrot sticks right along with their buche de Noel.

Green Gourmet Dip

1 cup of vegenaise (this is an egg-free mayo and I happen to like the taste of it much better than mayo but you can use real mayonnaise)

1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt

1/4 cup chopped fresh chives

3 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon

2 tbsp chopped fresh basil

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 garlic clove, chopped

1 ripe avocado, halved, pitted, peeled

salt and pepper, to taste

Blend the vegenaise and the next 6 ingredients in a food processor. A blender will work but it will take a little stopping and stirring in between blending.  Add the avocado and blend.  Taste and determine if you want to add a smidge (technical term) more garlic or vinegar and then season with salt and pepper.  Place in a bowl and serve with a variety of fresh vegetables.

One Response to “Green Gourmet Dip – A Little Holiday Balance”

  1. Tes December 16, 2010 at 9:47 AM #

    This dip looks so creamy and rich. I will have to try this. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

