Goodbye South Carolina, hello Savannah, GA!

5 Dec

by Green Gourmet K

Bubbly for one to celebrate my new job in a new town.

I love South Carolina, yes I do.  I especially love the coast of South Carolina.  It’s where my heart is, along with many people that are important to me.  But unfortunately it is not where the jobs are or where my current paycheck comes from.  So I moved to Savannah, GA where I was offered a job that is right up my alley.  Non-profit jobs do not pay much though so I am still, after 3 years of law school and graduate school, watching my pennies.  I’m also confronted by a new task – living and cooking alone, for one, solo, all by my lonesome.  Yes, I am married but my dear husband is still finishing school and I needed to take a job wherever I could find one.

He and I love living together so this has been a challenge.  We also love cooking together.  We usually drink wine and help each other make a meal and chat while doing it.  It’s a great way to spend some time together.  Now I am on my own though (except when he comes down on weekends) so I am learning to cook for one again.  Cooking for one can be a real blessing – I don’t have to please anyone but myself.  So I want to eat cucumbers in yogurt, I can do that without getting any weird looks.  Then again, I don’t have anyone to please with my cooking, which is part of the fun of it.  I have a feeling it will not be long before my new co-workers are forced to eat my attempts at baking.  Some of my recipes, for the near future at least, will likely focus on small meals that can be made for one to two people.

Dogs love broccoli too.

Here’s one good thing about moving to a new city though – a whole new restaurant culture to explore.  I’ve already been to a couple new favorites – Zunzi’s, Back in the Day Bakery, Gallery Espresso – and I can’t wait to try a few more.  I’ll post as I do.

One Response to “Goodbye South Carolina, hello Savannah, GA!”

  1. Clintopher December 6, 2010 at 11:30 PM #

    Had no clue that Poofer like broccoli so much!

Leave a Reply

