Back in the Day Bakery

5 Dec

by Green Gourmet K

Old fashioned cupcake from Back in the Day

When I initially moved to Savannah I did a little online research to find out the best places to eat and hang out.  Back in Day Bakery came up time and time again.  Locals and tourists alike – people love this place!  It is easy to see why too.

When the husband came into town a couple weeks ago we went by there to try one of their cupcakes (they are known for their old-fashioned style cupcakes).  I tried a classic, white cake with chocolate frosting, and of course husband snagged the last red velvet with cream cheese frosting.  These cupcakes were delicious!  I have tried a few cupcakes in my day (hello Magnolia Bakery in New York City and Cupcake in Charleston, SC).  The cake part was light and airy and the chocolate frosting was smooth and flavorful.  I confess I did not get to try the red velvet because sometimes the husband does not share too well with others, especially when it is something very delicious.

The decor is very fun – old fashioned kitchen items have been collected and decorate the whole space and some items are even for sale.  The staff all wear retro style aprons and since I love aprons this was a detail that really caught my eye.

Red velvet cupcake from Back in the Day.

While there we perused the lovely case of breads they have and bought a rosemary ciabatta.  It was insanely good!  This was the real star of the day for me.  I loved the cupcakes but that bread was heavenly.   When I go back, because I most certainly will, I will get some photos of the interior and the breads.

5 Responses to “Back in the Day Bakery”

  1. Ali December 6, 2010 at 3:14 PM #

    And how about those sandwich cookies we had down there (didn’t they have lavendar in them)? Insanely delicious!

    • thegreengourmets December 6, 2010 at 3:30 PM #

      YES! I think I need to go there again and do a follow-up post. Any time you want to come down again . . .

  2. Nancy December 6, 2010 at 6:42 PM #

    This blog is a public service! We all need cupcakes! The world would be a better place when there is a cupcake on every table!

  3. Brian D December 7, 2010 at 5:51 AM #

    Hello Lauren and Katy – Congratulations on your new blog – I am excited for you both! I especially like the “frugal” part!! How about a post on the growth of community farmers markets as a source of locally grown vegetables – in addition to being more “fresh” than the trucked in or flown in mega farm vegetables, supporting these efforts keeps resources in the local community. Keep up the great work – when it comes to finding great advice and posts on sustainable, locally grown and budget friendly food, you just can’t “beet” Green Gourmets!!

    • thegreengourmets December 7, 2010 at 10:24 AM #

      Thanks Brian D :). We are definitely working on a post about Farmer’s Markets and Community Shared Agriculture (CSAs). Last year, the Green Gourmets split a share from their local CSA in Columbia. Worth every penny! Keep those suggestions coming!

Leave a Reply

